Book Idea From My 12 Year Old

My 12 year old daughter wants me to write a book for her.  Before I get into the description of her imagined protagonist, let me just say she is somewhat totally obsessed with horses, has a soft spot for animal rescue, and a major crush on Taylor Lautner.  While she neither read The Twilight Saga or watched the movies, she wore her “Team Jacob” shirt with pride anyway, because, well, Taylor Lautner and werewolves.  Yeah.

She wants me to write a book about a werewolf who rides horses and runs an animal rescue. The good mom in me totally wants to write her a little novella inspired by her idea.  The writer in me thinks a much better story would be one wherein the protagonist must hunt the monster terrorizing the animals he is trying so desperately to save…only to discover the monster is him all along.  When I suggested it, my daughter put her foot down on the matter.  I will not be casting her character as a villain any time soon.

Canis_lupus_Kopf

Image Credit:  By Mariofan13 (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

2 thoughts on “Book Idea From My 12 Year Old

Leave a Reply

