Why Self-Publish?

There is a ton of talk out there about the benefits of self-publishing vs. traditional and vice versa. Google it, and see for yourself. Or better yet, check out this blog for a comprehensive list of questions to ask yourself when choosing which option is best for you.  I won’t reinvent the wheel. What I will do is tell you why I’m self-publishing.

There is a myth–thankfully being dispelled by many skilled indie authors–that self-publishing is a road only traveled when a book isn’t good enough to be picked up by a traditional publisher. BLOOD TOY is not that book.  It may very well be good enough to be picked up…eventually. But I am not patient enough to wait and wade through the inevitable rejection letters for someone to bring me to the dance. I can take my own car, thankyouverymuch.  Many authors insist this is a terrible reason not to go traditional. Eh, maybe.  I’m just not much of a wait-and-see kind of person.  Remind me to blog another time about my ten year obsession with fortune telling games.

With that said, I would not self-publish unless I could afford to do it right. Self-publishing is not (necessarily) free or certainly not easy. I spent $300 on my cover design. I will spend another $1300+ on editing. I just bit the bullet on $20 worth of stock art for teasers. I will spend yet more money on ISBN number, bookmarks, business cards, eventually a better website. I will more than likely do some paid marketing as well once I have a release date firmly set. The biggest expense for me, though, is time. I have spent several hours on blogging, social media, and networking every single say since I pressed ‘Publish’ on my WordPress site. That is after my day job, before my daughter goes to bed, and in addition to writing Book 2.

Self-publishing is a critical part of my three year plan to publish all four novels in the BLOOD TOY series. My fifteen year plan is to be able to retire at 50(ish) to write full-time. Given that will mean sixteen novels under my belt at minimum (if I stick to my timeline), this is an ambitious, but achievable goal.  Maybe I will even connect with a traditional publisher once I have a few books out, but maybe not.

While I ultimately want to be hugely successful, I write first because it is something I enjoy. Self-publishing allows me to choose every partner with whom I work. Beta readers, designers, editors, author friends…I don’t have to put up with anyone I don’t like. There is no other area in my life I can make that claim!  And that is just about reason enough to self-publish.

6160535565_e92eecfe95_o

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/23062818@N00/6160535565″>Brooklyn Book Festival</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/”>(license)</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “Why Self-Publish?

Leave a Reply

