Writing the Book You Want to Read #2

In yesterday’s post, I discussed the most important quality in the book I want to read, one that has personal significance to me, that is a strong female protagonist. The next quality, while not as personally relevant (I really don’t want to surround myself with villains in real life), is what I crave in a story.

Quality 2: Bad*ss Male Antagonist

Screen Shot 2015-04-09 at 7.40.18 PM

I like my bad guys…bad.  Sexy as hell, but unapologetically evil, my storybook anti-hero will not turn a new leaf when he meets the woman of his dreams. In fact, she will more likely than not bring out the worst in him. That is not to say he has no redeeming qualities. Krista Culbertson on her blog, American Of London, says in this post, “What ultimately makes these characters so good is that they refuse to be one dimensional baddies.” He must be a whole character, with a history and motivations of his own, and not just a rock for the heroine to thrash herself against.

PS.  Post a reply if you caught the movie reference in that last sentence!

2 thoughts on “Writing the Book You Want to Read #2

  1. “My storybook anti-hero will not turn a new leaf when he meets the woman of his dreams” – fantastic! Nothing worse than a character who can’t stick to his guns.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

