Setting Goals and Capitalizing on Momentum

IMG_4018

I have spent 22 years writing BLOOD TOY. As the crow flies, it only took me a few months to write it, and a few more for revisions. The other 21 years six months I spent on previous versions of the book (same characters, but vastly different stories). There was a decade that I did no writing at all on this series. I wrote other stories.  I blogged about some of my other interests. I focused on my career and my family. To be honest though, I let my right brain go a bit, and I put off what I had no idea how to finish. See “Finish What You Start” for a more thorough look at my process of procrastination and what I suggest doing differently to avoid spending two decades on your Great American Novel!

Anyway, my point is, now that I have fully committed to publishing BLOOD TOY this summer, I cannot spend the next 22 years finishing Book 2. I cannot spend the next 22 months or even 22 weeks finishing it. I have read over and over that book sales drop off 90 days post-launch. Not that I expect to see a windfall of sales over this period, but I do want to capitalize on the natural rhythm of things and ride any buzz created by my first book by publishing my second 90 days later.

Yep, I said it.  My goal is to publish my second novel three months after I publish my first.

Holy crap, that’s ambitious, you say? How the heck are you going to do that, you say? It just so happens one of my favorite author personalities, Jenna Moreci, had a vlog just this morning all about setting quarterly goals, and taking her recommendation, I totally set some of my own:

April:

  • Get BLOOD TOY into copy-editing. (This is already set for April 27.)
  • Reach 1000 followers across all social media platforms. (Only 217 to go!)
  • Blog every single day.
  • Finish outline of Book 2. (This is how I plan to avoid stalling and keep momentum going from start to finish.)

May:

  • Finish Copy-editing for BLOOD TOY.
  • Blog every single day.
  • Write 150 pages on Book 2.
  • Reach 2000 followers across all social media platforms. (I know ambitious, right?)

June:

  • Proofread and Publish BLOOD TOY.
  • Blog every single day.
  • Write 150 more pages pages on Book 2.
  • Reach 3000 followers.

July:

  • Finish First Draft of Book 2.
One thought on “Setting Goals and Capitalizing on Momentum

Leave a Reply

