Editing… I think I can. I think I can.

I am very lucky that I like editing. I feel like the first draft is the most painful. They get better after that. I kinda feel like this about formatting and proofreading though: “I feel like my middle daughter sitting at the table to do homework and crying that it is too hard, when the fact of the matter is I just don’t want to do it.” –S.M. Starley
If you haven’t already, go like her page!

Flying Scotsman (1)

I am in the process of editing my debut novel, going through and taking out as many  was’s, had’s and ly’s as possible. It has been a very slow and painful process for me. I would liken it to pulling teeth or trying to trudge through quick sand.

I have found myself filled with inspiration and ideas for book two, which I put on hold to do the editing because that should be the priority, right? I want it to be as flawless as possible since I sadly can’t afford a professional. Hopefully once I am ready to publish the errors will be insignificant or better yet nonexistent.

Getting distracted with the excitement I feel for book two makes the editing even harder. I feel like my middle daughter sitting at the table to do homework and crying that it is too hard, when the fact of the matter is…

View original post 158 more words

Leave a Reply

