What’s Up and What’s Next

Well, folks, I am on the homestretch now. Final files for Blood Toy’s digital edition are uploaded and ready to go live on June 29th. Print proofs for the paperback edition are in the mail, arriving next Thursday…which cannot come soon enough. I can’t believe that I am finally going to be able to hold this thing in my hand!

For anybody looking to self-publish who might be still trying to decide on printing options and distribution channels, I thought I’d offer some insight into my reasoning for choosing the ones I chose.

E-Book:  I went with KDP Select for e-book distribution because, as a new author, I felt people might be more inclined to borrow Blood Toy than buy it, so I see Kindle Unlimited and the Kindle Owners  Lending Library as huge advantages to Select and reason enough to go exclusive. Also, I can take advantage of the Kindle Countdown Deals, which can be promoted free or cheaply on a number of sites (I have a file of them bookmarked and will post which ones I end up using and why once I get to that stage).

Paperback Limited Distribution:  I went with CreateSpace for paperback distribution on Amazon.com and Amazon Europe because setup is FREE, and author royalties are higher on Amazon than in bookstores (more on that later).

Hardback and Paperback Extended Distribution:   I will go with IngramSpark for hardback and paperback extended distribution because this allows me to offer industry standard discounts and returns to bookstores, retailers, wholesalers, etc…(basically everywhere but Amazon), making it more likely bookstores will pick up my title if I can establish a demand for it. The downside of IngramSpark is a $49 per title setup fee and a $25 charge per change. The downside of industry standard discounts is that I will end up earning less on a single hardback sale at $27.99 in Barnes & Noble than on a $3.99 e-book sale! On the other hand, that would be a very good problem to have.  I however have no set timetable for extended distribution.

What’s next?

I am still hoping to get a few more ARC reviews before release. My book is currently in the hands of two reviewers who are reading it now and will hopefully offer reviews before launch and three that will likely not get to it until after publication. I am still awaiting reply from half a dozen others.

My Goodreads giveaway going live at midnight tonight!  I’ll be giving away 3 copies of my paperback edition, open to residents of US and CA only due to shipping costs.

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Blood Toy by B.K. Raine

Blood Toy

by B.K. Raine

Giveaway ends June 29, 2015.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to Win

(Remember…giveaway isn’t live until midnight.)

I hope to do a few more guest blogs like this one and a few author interviews to spread awareness to a broader audience. I’ll also be hosting a series of re-blogs/guest blogs on this site next week as I will be in LA for my day job and am going to be lucky to grab 6 hours of sleep a night, much less time enough to blog!

And finally, my #girlcrush Jenna Moreci invites her fans to suggest topics for her weekly vlog, which made me think…hmmm, I’d like to devote a blog a week too to reader requests!

So…what would you like to see me blog about?

One thought on “What’s Up and What’s Next

Leave a Reply

